All About Scales 
 Scale Mate 
About Guitar Scales
12 Tone System
Atonal & Pantonal Structures
Augmented Scales
Chord Spelling Table
Chromatic Scales
Cycle Of Fifths
Diatonic Scales
Diminished Scales
Dominant Scales
Major & Minor Scales
Major & Minor Chromatic Scales
Major & Minor Pentatonic Scales
Pentatonic Scales
Pentatonic Chromatic Scales
Polytonal Music
Scale Modes
Table Of Intervals
Table Of Keys
Table Of Scales
Tone Scales


The Cycle of Fifths is a progression of notes or chords in ascending perfect fifth degree steps and will assist with the memorisation of keys. Commencing from C the Cycle of Fifths is as follows:
|---Ascending in the Cycle of Fifths -> --------------------------------------------|
       |-----------Keys with Sharps--------------|
C___G___D___A___E___B___F#____C#____g#____ d#____ a#___ e#__ b#
d--    a--    e--    b--    f-     C-     G-        D-        A-         E-         B-       F       C
                                        |-----------------Keys with Flats---------------------|
|---------------------------------------- <- Descending in fourth degree steps -----|

Notice that the root notes of sharp keys progress in accordance with the ascending steps of the Cycle of Fifths from G to C#, and that the root notes of flat keys progress in accordance with the descending steps of the Cycle of Fifths from F to Cflat. Sharps are added to the sharp keys in the order of one sharp per step beginning at G with 1 sharp and ending at C# with 7 sharps. Flats are added to the flat keys in the order of one flat per step beginning at F with 1 flat and ending at Cflat with 7 flats.

A Cycle of Fifths progression can commence from any of the twelve different notes in the chromatic scale and on completion of the cycle will overlap and repeat itself.

If you have any Comments or Suggestions, Please mail me @
August 1, 2007