All About Scales 
 Scale Mate 
About Guitar Scales
12 Tone System
Atonal & Pantonal Structures
Augmented Scales
Chord Spelling Table
Chromatic Scales
Cycle Of Fifths
Diatonic Scales
Diminished Scales
Dominant Scales
Major & Minor Scales
Major & Minor Chromatic Scales
Major & Minor Pentatonic Scales
Pentatonic Scales
Pentatonic Chromatic Scales
Polytonal Music
Scale Modes
Table Of Intervals
Table Of Keys
Table Of Scales
Tone Scales


The augmented 6 tone scale (also known as a whole tone scale) ascends and descends in equal interval (tone or 2 fret) steps from a root to its octave and by doing so, shifts the notion of key-centre from one tone to the next. As a result, the scale may be named by any one of the 6 tones in the scale and, where played from their root to their octave contain the same tones. As a general rule though, any scale is named in accordance with the root (whether key-centred, played or neither) or lowest note of the scale. In affect, there are only two aug. 6 tone scale patterns, the C (and also called D, E, F#, G# and or A#) and C# (and also called D#, F, G, A and or B). Wherein lay, the other names of and overlapping patterns for, all the other aug. 6 tone scale structures.

The equal interval construction of the augmented scale is a repetition of -3 & H (-3 H -3 H -3 H) and as with other forms of augmented scale, include the 1 3 and #5 (C E and G#) tones of the arpeggio. 1 3 #5 is also the augmented chord spelling in equal interval major 3rd steps with 1 being reference to the non key-centered root or bass note.The 7 tone lydian aug. scale is a lydian mode with a sharpened or augmented 5th. In passing, the augmented 5th (G#) attacks the key-centre (key of G) of the lydian mode with the key-centre of G#. Notice the two tetrachords (4 note half scales) are both constructed in equal interval steps of "T T T T" and "T S T S". Shown below is the tonal structure for augmented scales and the 3 tone augmented arpeggio (notes of the chord played one after the other) from the root C.

                   |-------------Equal Interval Steps -------------|
                       T      T      T      T       T       T
                    1             3              #5
Aug. 6 Tone -       C      D      E      F#      G#      A#      C       (6 Tone)

                   |------------ Equal Interval Steps -------------|
                        -3      S      -3      S      -3       S
Augmented -         C         D#  E          G   A-          B   C      (6 Tone)
                       |-Tetrachords In Equal Interval Steps --|
                       T      T       T      T     S     T     S
Lydian Aug -        C      D      E      F#      G#    A     B   C      (7 Tone)
Lydian Mode -       C      D      E      F#   G        A     B   C      (7 Tone)
                    |C - G=Perfect 5th Interval|
                    |C - G#=Augmented 5th Interval|

                    |------------- Equal Interval Steps -------------|
                        Maj. 3         Maj. 3          Maj. 3
Aug. Arpeggio -     C             E              G#              C      (3 Tone)

                   |------------------Chromatic Tones------------------------||Extended ->
                   1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10    11    12    1    2
                   c   c#    d    d#   e    f    f#   g    g#    a    a#     b    c    c#
                      (d-)       (e-)           (g-)      (a-)       (b-)             (d-)

C Aug. 6 Tone -    c         d         e         f#        g#         a#          c
C# Aug. 6 Tone -       c#         d#        f         g          a           b         c# 


    C Aug -     1               3                 #5(G#)                *               *   4
    E Aug -     *               1                  3(G#)              #5(B#)            *   4
    G# Aug -    *               *                  1(G#)               3(B#)        #5(D##) 7
    A- Aug -    *               *                  1(A!)               3(C)         #5(E) 4etc…

If you have any Comments or Suggestions, Please mail me @
August 1, 2007