All About Scales 
 Scale Mate 
About Guitar Scales
12 Tone System
Atonal & Pantonal Structures
Augmented Scales
Chord Spelling Table
Chromatic Scales
Cycle Of Fifths
Diatonic Scales
Diminished Scales
Dominant Scales
Major & Minor Scales
Major & Minor Chromatic Scales
Major & Minor Pentatonic Scales
Pentatonic Scales
Pentatonic Chromatic Scales
Polytonal Music
Scale Modes
Table Of Intervals
Table Of Keys
Table Of Scales
Tone Scales


The chromatic scale ascends and descends entirely by semitone steps from a root to its octave. As a general rule and the diagram below shows, sharps are used when ascending and flats are used when descending. When a chromatic statement (full or part scale) is introduced to a key with sharps or flats, the natural sign is used to sharpen a flat note and flatten a sharp note. Enharmonic tones such as C# & Dflat are notes of the same pitch that are specific to the keys they so relate eg. The Bflat is proper to the key of F (Dm) where the A# is not. The chromatic scale contains the tones of all scales that can be constructed from the chromatic note range of all 12 tones in the universally accepted system of Equal Temperament.
                     Ascending ->
Chromatic Scale -    C  C#  D  D#  E  F  F#  G  G#  A  A#  B  C
                     C  D-  D  E-  E  F  G-  G  A-   A B-  B  C
                                                  <- Descending

If you have any Comments or Suggestions, Please mail me @
August 1, 2007