All About Scales 
 Scale Mate 
About Guitar Scales
12 Tone System
Atonal & Pantonal Structures
Augmented Scales
Chord Spelling Table
Chromatic Scales
Cycle Of Fifths
Diatonic Scales
Diminished Scales
Dominant Scales
Major & Minor Scales
Major & Minor Chromatic Scales
Major & Minor Pentatonic Scales
Pentatonic Scales
Pentatonic Chromatic Scales
Polytonal Music
Scale Modes
Table Of Intervals
Table Of Keys
Table Of Scales
Tone Scales


The diatonic scale ascends and descends entirely by notes proper to the key and or uses notes proper to the prescribed 7 tone major or minor scale eg. The diatonic structure for the G Major scale is "G A B C D E F# G" with the F# appearing in the key signature. The diatonic structure for E melodic minor includes the sharpened 6th and 7th (ascending accidentals) as notes being proper to the scale, even though not appearing in the key signature with the F#. The same can be said for the diatonic structure of the E harmonic minor with the sharpened 7th (ascending & descending accidental) not appearing in the key signature with the F#. Any additional, altered or deviation in or to a diatonic scale is referred to purely as an accidental and may be included in the construction of a diatonic scale or invention of a mode for particular musical use.

If you have any Comments or Suggestions, Please mail me @
August 1, 2007