All About Scales 
 Scale Mate 
About Guitar Scales
12 Tone System
Atonal & Pantonal Structures
Augmented Scales
Chord Spelling Table
Chromatic Scales
Cycle Of Fifths
Diatonic Scales
Diminished Scales
Dominant Scales
Major & Minor Scales
Major & Minor Chromatic Scales
Major & Minor Pentatonic Scales
Pentatonic Scales
Pentatonic Chromatic Scales
Polytonal Music
Scale Modes
Table Of Intervals
Table Of Keys
Table Of Scales
Tone Scales


Put simply, these altered scale types incorporate a chromatic note or notes with the notes proper to the major and minor scale structures as discussed above and as shown in the diagram below. Accordingly, these scales consist of 8, 9, 10 and 11 tones. Were 12 tones to be employed, the resultant scale would be purely chromatic. As a general rule, the more the tones in a scale the more chromatic the scale becomes and the less tones in a scale the less chromatic.

                    |----------------------- Chromatic Tones ----------------------|
                    1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10    11    12    1
                    c   c#    d    d#   e    f   f#    g    g#    a    a#     b    c
                       (d-)            (e-)                (g-)       (a-)        (b-)
                    Ascending ->
C Major Chromatic   C         D         E    F   f#    G          A           B    C
                    C         D         E    F         G    a-    A           B    C
                                                                       <- Descending

                    Ascending ->
C Minor Chromatic   C         D    E-        F   f#    G    A-         B-          C
                    C    d-   D    E-        F         G    A-         B-          C
                                                                       <- Descending

If you have any Comments or Suggestions, Please mail me @
August 1, 2007