All About Scales 
 Scale Mate 
About Guitar Scales
12 Tone System
Atonal & Pantonal Structures
Augmented Scales
Chord Spelling Table
Chromatic Scales
Cycle Of Fifths
Diatonic Scales
Diminished Scales
Dominant Scales
Major & Minor Scales
Major & Minor Chromatic Scales
Major & Minor Pentatonic Scales
Pentatonic Scales
Pentatonic Chromatic Scales
Polytonal Music
Scale Modes
Table Of Intervals
Table Of Keys
Table Of Scales
Tone Scales

MAJOR AND MINOR MODE: The seven modern modes Ionian, Dorian, Phrygian, Lydian, Mixolydian, Aeolian and Locrian are diatonic scale structures beginning from each of the notes in their parent major or minor scale and progress through the parent scale notation to the octave of their starting notes. Commencing from C (in the key of C) the modes and their related diatonic 7th chords are as follows:
C Ionian Mode (C Major) = C-C              C Maj.7
C    D    E    F    G    A    B    C

     D Dorian Mode = D-D                            Dm7
     D    E    F    G    A    B    C    D

          E Phrygian Mode = E-E                          Em7
          E    F    G    A    B    C    D    E

               F Lydian Mode = F-F                              F Maj.7
               F    G    A    B    C    D    E    F
		    G Mixolydian Mode (Dom.7) = G-G                   G7
                    G    A    B    C    D    E    F    G

                         A Aeolian Mode (A Pure Minor) = A-A             Am7
                         A    B    C    D    E    F    G    A

                              B Locrian Mode = B-B                              Bm7-5
                              B    C    D    E    F    G    A    B

Scales as with melodies and chords are transposed (changing the key) by moving the patterns up and or down the guitar fingerboard eg. Moving the pattern for the A aeolian mode (key of C) up one fret position will result in an A# or Bflat aeolian mode in the key of C# or Dflat and so on. Being familiar with the fret position of natural notes to the 12th fret on the guitar fingerboard, will be of tremendous help when transposing memorised scale patterns. Of particular importance is the note name and fret position of the root or scale tonic, the same being represented with black dots in the guitar grid illustrations. To assist with the memorisation of string notation, the natural notes for each string to the 12th fret may be thought of modally (see diagram below).


                      0    1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9   10   11   12
E-E Phrygian   1    E||---F|----|---G|----|---A|----|---B|---C|----|---D|----|---E|
B-B Locrian    2    B||---C|----|---D|----|---E|---F|----|-- G|----|---A|----|---B|
G-G Mixolydian 3    G||----|---A|----|---B|---C|----|---D|----|---E|---F|----|---G|
D-D Dorian     4    D||----|---E|---F|----|---G|----|---A|----|---B|---C|----|---D|
A-A Aeolian    5    A||----|---B|---C|----|---D|----|---E|---F|----|---G|----|---A|
E-E Phrygian   6    E||---F|----|---G|----|---A|----|---B|---C|----|---D|----|---E|

If you have any Comments or Suggestions, Please mail me @
August 1, 2007