All About Scales 
 Scale Mate 
About Guitar Scales
12 Tone System
Atonal & Pantonal Structures
Augmented Scales
Chord Spelling Table
Chromatic Scales
Cycle Of Fifths
Diatonic Scales
Diminished Scales
Dominant Scales
Major & Minor Scales
Major & Minor Chromatic Scales
Major & Minor Pentatonic Scales
Pentatonic Scales
Pentatonic Chromatic Scales
Polytonal Music
Scale Modes
Table Of Intervals
Table Of Keys
Table Of Scales
Tone Scales


In addition to the major and minor pentatonic scales above, any scale with 6 or more tones can be converted to pentatonic (5 tone) by omitting a tone or tones so as to construct a 5 tone scale and, any scale or scale segment with 4 or less tones can also be converted to pentatonic by adding a tone or tones so as to establish the required 5 tone structure. Clearly, pentatonic scales are not confined to the major or minor scale families and any 5 tone combination of the 12 chromatic tones will create a pentatonic or pentatonic tone scale (5 tone) with 6 notes to the octave from the root. Four examples of pentatonic tone scales are shown below.

Pentatonic Tone Scale (from Chromatic) -   C        E   F                   B-   B   C

Pentatonic Tone Scale (from Major) -       C        E   F               A        B   C

Pentatonic Tone Scale (from Minor) -       C    E-             G   A-       B-       C

Pentatonic Tone Scale (from Mixolydian) -  C            F      G        A   B-       C

If you have any Comments or Suggestions, Please mail me @
August 1, 2007